Step 1: Acknowledge your core negative beliefs and replace them with positive alternatives

How do you do this?  First, acknowledge that your Creative Self is linked to your Inner Child; the Inner Child is that part of you that, many years ago, used to play with great imagination and freedom, untroubled and free from self-judgement.

Recovering this carefree state of Self requires slow and gentle baby steps.  You must be willing to let go, be silly, treat yourself to things, and admit that it won’t be an easy process – all free from self-judgment.

Here is a list of commonly held negative beliefs.  Please add to the list some of your own thoughts:

I can’t … (be more creative, less stressed, take time for myself) because … :

Everyone will hate me.
I will hurt my friends and family.
I will abandon my friends and family.
I can’t spell/draw/paint/build/sculpt/act/sing/dance.
I don’t have good enough ideas.
It will upset my mother and/or father.
I will have to be alone.
I will do bad work and not know it and look like a fool.
I will feel too angry.
I will never have any real money.
I will die of embarrassment.
I will feel bad because I don’t deserve to be successful.
It is too late/I am too old.
Once you’ve identified your Core Negative Beliefs, spend some time writing down positive alternatives to them.  For example: I can’t treat myself to a canvas and some paints because nobody will take me seriously as an artist.  Replace with: I WILL treat myself to a canvas and some paints because it will be fun to experiment and play with lines and color.

Allow yourself to invest in your Creative Self by breaking through barriers of fear and Core Negative Beliefs, which are partners in crime.  Using Positive Affirmations to replace these negative thoughts and beliefs will help you achieve a sense of safety and hope.

Good Luck!

One thought on “Step 1: Acknowledge your core negative beliefs and replace them with positive alternatives

  1. I spend years in a cycle of negative ‘I can’t’ thoughts and, as to be expected attracted nothing but negativity towards myself. All the bad things I were convinced were going to happen, did. I read many books on positive thinking and the law of attraction but I never put much faith into it, convinced that it was all airy-fairy nonsense. Reading the writings of Napoleon Hill changed that for me and I now spent 100% of my time positively and creatively thinking. I am convinced it will work and has already started!!

Care to share?

