The Four Agreements

The Four Agreements is an amazing and Life changing book by don Miguel Ángel Ruiz.  If you haven’t yet read it, take some time to read my posts on the book in the next several weeks and decide if it is worth picking up.  I could try to convince you, but I’ll let the work speak for itself 🙂

The Four Agreements

Mr. Ruiz starts off the book by explaining how everything in our personal world, everything in our Life, is an agreement that we make.  These agreements are made with ourselves, with other people, with our dream of Life, with our God (Creator, Universe), with our parents, with our spouses or lovers, with our children and pets.  The list goes on and on.

The most important agreements are the ones we have made and will make with ourselves.  It is with these agreements that we tell ourself: this is who I am, this is what I feel, this is what I believe, and this is how I should behave.  The result is what you call your personality.  In these agreements you say, “This is what I am.  This is what I believe.  I can do certain things, and some things I cannot do.  This is reality, that is fantasy; this is possible, that is impossible.”

He goes on to propose that if you want to live a drama-free Life of joy and fulfillment, you have to break the agreements that are fear-based.  You can do this by adopting The Four Agreements (and later, the Fifth Agreement), which have been passed down from Ancient Toltec Wisdom over the generations.

Stay tuned for the agreements and don Miguel Ángel Ruiz’s concept for a happier Life and a happier YOU!

4 thoughts on “The Four Agreements

    • Thanks, Suhail! I agree, it’s a fantastic book! I’ll be sharing more about it soon in the hopes of inspiring others to either pick up a copy for themselves or to use my posts as a guide to change their lives. Happy reading!!

  1. Thanks for bringing the Four Agreements to the light, Rita! I read this book and found it very meaningful and digestible. I am glad I read it and ate it. 😀 One of my favorite thoughts from The Four Agreements? “Be impeccable with your word.”

Care to share?

