Be Impeccable With Your Word

In Don Miguel Ruiz’s book, The Four Agreements, he dives right in with what many consider the most difficult (and most powerful) agreement: Be impeccable with your word.

Be Impeccable With Your Word

Your word, consisting of your verbal communication with yourself and the outside world (thoughts included), is filled with power; your intent manifests through your word, your creative power is expressed by your word, and your word is the power you have to create.  It is a force of indescribable magnitude that serves to connect you to others through expression and communication, and additionally shapes and creates the events of your Life.

Now, if that wasn’t enough to make your head hurt, feel free to proceed.

Ruiz uses the metaphor of a double-edged sword to describe our words: to be used for good or for evil.  When we complain, curse, and think negative thoughts about ourself or others, we plant evil seeds of negativity into our fertile Minds, and the seeds we plant are the seeds we sow.  That will become your Life – negative, full of curses, a downward spiral of “bad luck”, and so on.  However, if we plant the seeds of positivity into our fertile Minds, then we attract goodness into our lives.  Ruiz goes so far as to say that with this one agreement alone, you could transform your life completely by eliminating drama and negativity.

I don’t know about all of you, but that sounds A-Okay to me!  Sign me up!

The thing is, mastering (or attempting to master) this agreement has been one of the biggest challenges I’ve faced in a very long time.  I have the agreement written on a small white board in my bathroom so that I can be reminded every time I go in there, but it is still very hard to catch myself in the act and thought-block or auto-correct my faulty words and thoughts.

Give it a shot.  You have nothing to lose, except for negativity and drama, that is!  Not bad if you ask me!

Stay tuned for the other four agreements in the coming weeks.  That’s right, four more; later came the fifth agreement (added bonus!).

6 thoughts on “Be Impeccable With Your Word

  1. The Four Agreements is one of my favorite books! I agree that this one is tricky – I catch myself amending my words all the time now, but it’s definitely a process!

  2. Really like this! I have to “…take every thought captive to the obedience of Christ” otherwise- those thoughts ruminate in my mind-just like you wrote. Keep up the good work.

    • Thanks so much, Lisa! I’m glad this post “spoke” to you in a way that can be useful and helpful in your Life. The power is in sharing these agreements with others so that they, too, can make meaningful changes in their lives. 🙂

Care to share?

